I get knocked down, but I get up again.

Standard

If I have learnt one thing from this past year it would be that life is never what you expect. And also, when you think you have it figured out – you don’t! And also, that it is always worth it to keep trying when things don’t go your way. And that things quite often don’t go your way. Ok, I guess I have learnt more than one thing!

In the last couple of months there’s been stuff in my life that if given the chance I would probably have gone without. But that’s the thing unfortunately, we don’t get a choice to what comes along to test us, break us, grow us and lift us up. We do, however get a choice in how we handle it.

In the wise words of the musical genius that is Chumbawamba – ‘I get knocked down, but I get up again. You’re never going to keep me down’. This 90s classic may a be a one hit wonder, but it simply states that we need to just keep on trying. We can choose to get back up when we get slapped in the face by life’s punches.

Not that Chumbawamba aren’t extremely eloquent, but I just think it is said better in 2 Chronicles 15:7 – ‘but as for you, be strong and do not give up, for your work will be rewarded’. There have been many moments when I have wanted to give up because it seems too hard to take the step out into the unknown when each decision I have made seems to be the wrong one.

But hindsight is a beautiful thing! I can see, looking back on the choices I have made – even those that have failed – God has taught me something in each and every one. And I am sure that in years to come I will be able to see that at this moment on Easter Sunday 2017 He had plans for me.

Maybe not ones I knew about (which drives me a little nuts!) but ones that were more than I ever could have imagined. I may not have gotten there the way I wanted, but when are my plans ever better than Gods? That would be never! He did not put His one and only son through the horrors of dying on that cross so I could not get back up again when I am down.

So when I do get knocked down, you can bet I will get back up again, and again, and again. I will be resilient. I will be brave. I will keep trying to be worthy of the death that was not deserved but that occurred to take away my sins and makes Easter a time for praise (and for chocolate!).

Leave a Reply

